top of page
Monika Staab

Hello, I'm Monika.

I graduated in Educational Science (M.A.) and did my PhD in the field of Adult and Continuing Education as part of a cotutelle procedure at the University of Würzburg and the University of Florence.

I am a certified Holistic Life Coach and Mind-Body Practitioner from the MindBodyFood Institute* in Australia and work as a freelance trainer in the field of adult education on topics of (digital) teaching and learning.

I'm from Germany, currently living in Cyprus and feel at home in many places in Europe. I love to travel and discover the world. I am very active (yoga, fitness, running), like to be creative and enjoy spending time with my family and friends.

My working languages are German and English.

My story

I too was at the point where you are probably right now - in the middle of a PhD, overwhelmed, lost, self-doubting and under constant pressure to live up to my own standards and the supposed expectations of others. My thoughts were constantly circling around my to-do's, I felt permanently stressed and I was rarely able to really relax. At some point I realised that I was actually just functioning and had lost all ease and joy in my PhD. And yet my life seemed perfect to many on the outside, but on the inside it looked very different.

 

In addition, the striving for perfection and my strong self-doubt had led me to an eating disorder, which I had seemingly "conquered" at the beginning of my PhD, but over time it turned out that I was not really doing well for a long time. Eventually, due to a hormonal disorder, I began to focus more and more on holistic approaches to personal development and growth. I noticed that something began to change over time - I felt more alive, my physical complaints decreased, I had more energy and strength, was more understanding of myself, gained self-confidence and was also able to do my PhD much more easily.

 

Because of the visible changes, my interest in mindfulness and the body-mind connection grew. I read books, listened to many podcasts, attended a summer school on mindfulness in neurobiology and psychotherapy, and participated in a year-long coaching programme. My enthusiasm and fascination grew more and more until I realised that I wanted to share my knowledge and experience with others. I discovered my purpose in helping other PhD students to complete their PhD with more ease, joy and balance. My training as a Holistic Life Coach and Mind-Body Practitioner was finally able to take my knowledge and experience to the next level. 

 

And here I am, still far from perfect and in control, but much more mindful, at peace with myself, ready to take on new challenges and to support you on your PhD journey. Because looking back, I would have needed a person and support exactly like that. Someone I could open up to and share my doubts and concerns with in a safe environment. Someone who looks behind the scenes and shows me new perspectives and paths. Someone who understands me and who accompanies me on my way.

4 Facts about me

My PhD topic

"International Teaching and Learning Settings in the Academic Professionalization of Adult Education. An international and comparative study"

 

My PhD highlight​

My 6-month stay at the University of Florence: Dolce Vita meets PhD sprint.

My top 3 of self care

1. Going for a walk

2. Cooking and baking

3. Meditation and Yoga

What others say about me​

understanding, caring, good listener, respectful, organised, ambitious, courageous, creative, likes to talk a lot

PhD sucess

More...

... about my professional expertise and qualifications.

Professional Expertise

  • Since 2023 freelance coach for PhD students and students 

  • Since 2023 freelance trainer at CoPeople® by Angela Müller on topics of digital teaching, blended learning, online moderation

  • Since 2023 freelance trainer on topics of mindfulness, stress and self-management as well as digital teaching, blended learning and teaching in international settings (e.g. at the University of Würzburg)

  • 2016-2021 academic work at the University of Würzburg: teaching in presence and in live online format (German/English), course and examination planning, involvment in an international blended learning module, project management of Erasmus+ strategic partnerships, coordination of international cooperation, support of international lecturers and students

  • More than 2 years of experience abroad (e.g. studies, internships, seasonal schools, volunteer work)

  • Various internships and voluntary work in the field of youth education and adult and continuing education

Qualifications

  • Certified Holistic Life Coach and Mind Body Practitioner from the MindBodyFood Institute* in Australia

  • Certified Trauma-Informed Coach at the Centre for Healing in Australia

  • Certificate in University Teaching from the Bavarian universities

  • Certificate International Adult Education

  • PhD in Adult and Continuing Education – Bi-national degree from the University of Würburg, Germany and the University of Florence, Italy

  • Master's degree in Educational Science with a focus on adult and continuing education at the University of Würzburg, Germany

  • Bachelor's degree in Education with a focus on adult and continuing education, social pedagogy and music pedagogy at the University of Bamberg, Germany

*

MBFI certification
bottom of page

top of page
Monika Staab

Hallo, ich bin Monika.

Ich bin studierte Bildungswissenschaftlerin (M.A.) und habe im Bereich Erwachsenenbildung/Weiterbildung im Rahmen eines Cotutelle Verfahrens an der Universität Würzburg und Universität Florenz promoviert.

Ich bin zertifizierte Holistic Life Coach und Mind-Body Practitioner vom MindBodyFood Institute* in Australien und freiberuflich als Trainerin in der Erwachsenenbildung zu Themen der (digitalen) Lehre und Lernen tätig.

Ich komme aus Deutschland, lebe derzeit auf Zypern und fühle mich an vielen Orten Europas zuhause. Ich liebe es zu reisen und die Welt zu entdecken. Ich habe einen großen Bewegungsdrang (Yoga, Fitness, Laufen), mag es, kreativ zu sein und verbringe gerne Zeit mit meiner Familie und Freunden.

Meine Arbeitssprachen sind Deutsch und Englisch.

Meine Geschichte

Auch ich befand mich an dem Punkt, wo du dich wahrscheinlich gerade befindest - mitten in der Promotion, überfordert, verloren, an mir selbst zweifelnd und unter dem ständigem Druck, den eigenen Ansprüchen und den vermeintlichen Erwartungen anderer gerecht zu werden. Meine Gedanken kreisten ständig um meine To-Do's, ich fühlte mich dauerhaft gestresst und ich konnte nur selten wirklich entspannen. Irgendwann wurde mir klar, dass ich eigentlich nur noch funktionierte und ich jegliche Leichtigkeit und Freude an meiner Promotion verloren hatte. Und doch schien mein Leben nach außen für viele perfekt zu sein, aber innerlich sah es ganz anders aus.

 

Zudem hatten mich das Streben nach Perfektion und meine starken Selbstzweifel in eine Essstörung geführt, die ich zu Beginn meiner Promotion scheinbar "besiegt" hatte, doch im Laufe der Zeit stellte sich heraus, dass es mir noch lange Zeit nicht wirklich gut ging. Aufgrund einer hormonellen Störung begann ich mich schließlich mehr und mehr mit ganzheitlichen Ansätzen der persönlichen Entwicklung und des Wachstums zu beschäftigen. Ich merkte, wie sich mit der Zeit etwas zu verändern begann – ich fühlte mich lebendiger, meine körperlichen Beschwerden gingen zurück, ich hatte mehr Energie und Kraft, ging verständnisvoller mit mir selbst um, gewann an Selbstbewusstsein und Selbstvertrauen und konnte auch meine Doktorarbeit viel leichter bewältigen.

 

Aufgrund der sichtbaren Veränderungen wuchs mein Interesse an Themen der Achtsamkeit und der Verbindung von Körper und Geist. Ich las Bücher, hörte viele Podcasts, besuchte eine Summer School zum Thema Achtsamkeit in der Neurobiologie und Psychotherapie und nahm an einem einjährigen Coaching-Programm teil. Meine Begeisterung und Faszination nahmen immer mehr zu bis ich erkannte, dass ich mein Wissen und meine Erfahrungen mit anderen teilen möchte. Ich entdeckte meine Bestimmung darin, anderen Doktorand*innen zu helfen, ihre Promotion mit mehr Leichtigkeit, Freude und Ausgeglichenheit zu bewältigen. Meine Ausbildung zum Holistic Life Coach und Mind-Body Practitioner konnte mein Wissen und meine Erfahrungen schließlich auf die nächste Stufe befördern. 

 

Und hier bin ich nun, immer noch weit davon entfernt, perfekt zu sein und alles unter Kontrolle zu haben, aber viel achtsamer, in Frieden mit mir selbst, bereit, neue Herausforderungen anzugehen und dich auf deiner Promotionsreise zu unterstützen. Denn rückblickend hätte ich genau so eine Person und Unterstützung gebraucht. Eine Person, der ich mich öffnen und mit der ich meine Zweifel und Sorgen in einem sicheren Umfeld teilen kann. Eine Person, die hinter die Kulissen blickt und mir neue Perspektiven und Wege aufzeigt. Eine Person, die mich versteht und die mich auf meinem Weg begleitet.

Meine Geschichte gibt es auch im Podcast-Format: 

Höre jetzt die Folge des Podcasts "Higher Vibrations in Higher Education", in der ich zu Gast bin.

Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/episode/54kjOXRS4pgjdQjMdzPWFN?si=66433485db274d72

Apple Podcast: https://podcasts.apple.com/de/podcast/the-courage-to-earn-a-phd-mindfully-with-monika-staab/id1653506070?i=1000647563604

4 Fakten über mich

Mein Promotionsthema

"International Teaching and Learning Settings in the Academic Professionalisation of Adult Education. An international and comparative study"

 

Mein Highlight der Promotion

Mein 6-monatiger Aufenthalt an der Universität Florenz: Dolce Vita trifft aus Promotionsendspurt.

Meine Top 3 der Self-Care

1. Spazierengehen

2. Kochen und Backen

3. Meditation und Yoga

Das sagen andere über mich

verständnisvoll, fürsorglich, gute Zuhörerin, respektvoll, organisiert, ehrgeizig, mutig, kreativ, redet viel und gerne

PhD sucess

Mehr...

... zu meiner beruflichen Expertise und meinen Qualifikationen.

Berufliche Expertise

  • Seit 2023 freiberufliche Coachin für Promotionsstudierende und Studierende 

  • Seit 2023 freiberufliche Trainerin bei CoPeople® by Angela Müller zu Themen digitaler Lehre, Blended Learning, Online-Moderation

  • Seit 2023 freiberufliche Trainerin zu Themen der Achtsamkeit, Stress- und Selbstmanagement sowie digitaler Lehre, Blended Learning und Lehre in internationalen Settings (u.a. an der Universität Würzburg)

  • 2016-2021 wissenschaftliche Tätigkeit an der Universität Würzburg: Lehrtätigkeiten in Präsenz und im Live-Online Format (deutsch/englisch), Lehrveranstaltungs- und Prüfungsplanung, Mitwirkung an einem internationalen Blended Learning Modul, Projektmanagement internationaler strategischer Partnerschaften, Koordination von internationalen Kooperationen, Betreuung internationaler Dozierender und Studierender

  • Über 2 Jahre Auslandserfahrung (u.a. Studium, Praktikum, Seasonal Schools, Freiwilligenarbeit)

  • Diverse Praktika und ehrenamtliche Tätigkeiten im Bereich Jugendbildung und Erwachsenenbildung/Weiterbildung

Qualifikationen

  • Zertifizierte Holistic Life Coach und Mind-Body Practitioner am MindBodyFood Institute* in Australien

  • Zertifizierte Trauma-Informierter Coach am The Centre for Healing in Australien

  • Zertifikat Hochschullehre der Bayerischen Universitäten

  • Zertifikat Internationale Erwachsenenbildung

  • Promotion der Erwachsenenbildung/Weiterbildung – Bi-nationaler Abschluss an der Universität Würburg, Deutschland und der Universität Florenz, Italien

  • Masterstudium der Bildungswissenschaft mit Schwerpunkt Erwachsenenbildung/Weiterbildung an der Universität Würzburg, Deutschland

  • Bachelorstudium der Pädagogik mit Schwerpunkt Erwachsenenbildung/Weiterbildung, Sozialpädagogik und Musikpädagogik an der Universität Bamberg, Deutschland

*

MBFI certification
bottom of page